For the past 6 months I was monitoring my optimum online connection speeds and to NO surprise at all I realized that they lower the bandwidth on purpose!

Every two to four weeks the speed drops to about 1 Mbps (they advertise up to 15 Mbps!)

I call them every single time and go through the same stupid procedure (“… connect the modem directly …” – like that’s going to change anything). Every single time the answer is the same ” … we are sorry … would like to set up an appointment with a technician … ”

But here comes the most amazing part – the next day the speed is back to normal ( WHAT A SURPRISE )

That’s funny, I thought the rep. said “… there is nothing we can do from here …” and magically – VOILA!

Latest speedtest:


I just wish there was another provider in the area (zip 10471) so I can switch ASAP!

So I saw this post on techcrunch.com hacker proves facebooks public data is public

besides hundreds of other posts on different sites and this just made me so helpless and scared that I can no longer protect my identity online …



First of all WHO CARES!!! Welcome to 21 century, – [ you're online ] EQUALS [ PUBLIC ] – get used to it. For those who don’t know what “PUBLIC” means – AVAILABLE FOR ALL – DUH….



Anyways, I really wonder how this bright person who claims to be the security expert and a hacker (PPPPLEASE) managed to scrape this (amazing) data from facebook and got away with it ???



Hmmmmm, lets see, alright the first step probably requires an MIT degree:


a. go to facebook.com
b. click on the “find friends link” -> http://www.facebook.com/find-friends/?ref=pf

The second step probably requires at least 10 years of experience at NASA:

a. http://www.facebook.com/directory/people/A

The third step is the hardest of all and this is where his 1337 skills come into play:
a. write a 20 lines of code in your favorite language like PHP or ASP and scrape this data and go to the next page



Holly sh*t this was sooo hard… people need to relax a little and stop talking about this bull… and maybe talk about more serious issues like OIL SPILL that pretty much destroyed the ECO system and left thousand of people without work, I think this is a little bit more important … ?

Hello All,

I just wanted to share my unpleasant experience with those scammers. So here it goes:

On 12/19/09 I placed an order on their site. I received an email from “noreply-eng@shareit.com” a little later confirming my order.

I got another email from the same email:

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for placing an order with share-it!. You have purchased a product
by System SoftLab.

****************************************************************************
Contents:

A. Brief information on product delivery
B. Details for product delivery for ArtMoney Pro
C. Technical Support
D. Customer service

****************************************************************************
A. Brief information on product delivery

The publisher will send the license key in an e-mail attachment within 48
hours.

Please note that you will not receive a delivery by postal mail.

****************************************************************************
B. Details for product delivery for ArtMoney Pro

The publisher of “ArtMoney Pro” has been notified and is responsible for
delivering this product. System SoftLab will send the license key in an
e-mail attachment within 48 hours
.

Please contact System SoftLab directly with any questions about the
delivery of your order at: artmoney@systemsoftlab.com.

We recommend that you create a backup copy of the software, e.g. on CD,
because the publisher may not make the software available to you again if
it is lost.


I bolded out the important part of this email, I made my following decisions based on that.

So after 48 hours – I did not receive anything so I requested a refund:


Dear  XXXX,

Thank you for contacting the online store.

Sorry for the inconveneince.We have submitted a request to have a refund
for your order number XXXXX containing “ArtMoney Pro.” You may
receive an email confirmation of the refund at the address listed on the
order. If you do not receive the notification, please check your Spam or
Junk folders as these emails are sometimes considered unwanted by these
filters.

Sincerely,

Ma. Rosa V.
Your share-it! Team
_____________________________________________________________________

share-it! – a service of digital river - http://www.shareit.com
Digital River GmbH
Vogelsanger Str. 78, D-50823 Cologne, Germany
CEO: John Strosahl, Carsten Grüttner
Registered office: Cologne / HRB 56188 / District Council Cologne
_____________________________________________________________________

Original Message Follows:
————————

eMail: pavelxxxxxx
From: xxx xxxxxxx
Phone:

Message:
No information was emailed to me – that just says what kind of support I
will get …
Please refund my purchase!

Read the rest of this entry »